Historical information (standings and statistics) about America's oldest collegiate conference is being added to this website with the addition of archival material dating back to the founding years in each of the 20 league-sponsored sports. This is a work in progress.

Watch this space during the 2014-15 school year for interesting historical anecdotes. Click here for more.



MIAA Unveils Composite Schedule/Live Scoreboard Feature

With the start of the 2014-15 season of competition, the MIAA and PrestoSports is offering a new feature for visitors to its website: a composite schedule and live scoreboard function for most of its contests.

The feature offers one-click access to up-to-the-minute game results across the conference. Once on the scoreboard, users can click onto audio and video broadcasts of each contest.

The composite schedule and live scoreboard will be available throughout the season.


Former Kalamazoo Swimming Standout Working To Fight Ebola Spread in Africa

Former Kalamazoo men's swimming standout Greg Raczniak is on the front lines of fighting the spread of the Ebola virus in Africa.

Raczniak, a 1996 Kalamazoo graduate and preventive medicine resident for the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, is currently working in the nation of Sierra Leone with CDC's Ebola response team, collecting information on cases, and tracking down and monitoring people who have come in contact with others who display symptoms of the disease. Sierra Leone has been one of the countries hit hardest by the Ebola outbreak that has killed thousands in Africa.

As a student-athlete at Kalamazoo, Raczniak was a four-time All-MIAA selection, winning the men's 400-meter individual medley in 1993 and 1994. He also won All-American honors in the 200 breaststroke in 1993 and the 400 IM in 1995-96, as well as multiple honors as part of Kalamazoo All-America relay teams.

Raczniak served in the U.S. Navy for more than seven years before transferring to the U.S. Public Health Service in 2011. In recent years, he has participated in outbreak responses for Rocky Mountain Spotted Fever in Arizona, deployed to northern Kenya to evaluate pediatric feeding for the World Food Program, and studied steam bathing in remote Alaskan communities to prevent skin and soft tissue infections.

Click here to read more about Greg Raczniak.


Albion Women's Basketball Team Gives Back With Service Project

The Albion women’s basketball team has precious few Saturdays to enjoy before launching into practice leading up to the start of the 2014-15 campaign.

The Britons, however, were happy to lend their time to volunteer at the Happy Babies Day held Saturday, Sept. 27 at the Albion Community School. Sixteen student-athletes worked two-hour shifts during the event, which stretched from 9 a.m.-1 p.m. Activities included from staffing the registration table, distributing sack lunches, providing childcare for youngsters, and modeling the proper CPR technique on mannequins.

"Emily DeWaters (a junior post player and vice president of Albion's Student-Athlete Advisory Committee) found out about the program through the United Methodist Church, which sponsored the event," said junior guard Mikaela Bromley, who is one of the women’s basketball representatives to the SAAC. "A lot of women on the team, me included, have younger family members – nieces, nephews, brothers and sisters – so a lot of us helped with childcare. We played with the little kids. It was something of interest to us.

"We learned that we can make a difference just by having the 16 of us give two hours of our time," Bromley added. "It was a lot of fun to see the kids having so much fun."



Players of the Week

Player of the Week: Melanie Kuczek, Saint Mary's (left)
Specialty Player of the Week: Lauren Hazekamp, Hope (right)
Click here for more details 

Men's Soccer
Offensive Player of the Week: Taylor Pruis, Calvin (left)
Defensive Player of the Week: Kyle Kansman, Alma (right)
Click here for more details 

Women's Soccer
Offensive Player of the Week: Emily Reinecke, Olivet (left)
Defensive Player of the Week: Maggie Troost, Albion (right)
Click here for more details 

Cross Country
Men's Runner of the Week: Zac Nowicki, Calvin
Women's Runner of the Week: Cassie Vince, Calvin
Click here for men's cross country details
Click here for women's cross country details 

Women's Golf
Player of the Week: Amy Worthington, Trine
Click here for more details 


Former Alma Pitcher Signs Contract With Twins

Former Alma pitcher and outfielder Jose Velez has signed a minor league contract with Major League Baseball's Minnesota Twins.

Velez, who led the MIAA in strikeouts in 2013 with 63 punchouts in just 39 innings pitched in conference play, has spent the past two summers with the Evansville Otters of the independent Frontier League. The lefthander had a 2-5 record this season with a 2.52 earned run average and 82 strikeouts in just 57 innings pitched. He tied a club record by striking out 16 batters in one game against Windy City.

Velez hit .302 for Alma in 2013 with five home runs and 21 runs batted in. On the mound, he was 4-3 overall with an ERA of 2.62 and had 78 strikeouts in 44-2/3 innings pitched. Opponents hit a paltry .148 against him.

Click here to read more.


NCAA Reaches Out to Former Student-Athletes

The NCAA is excited to announce a new initiative in which they will be celebrating and reaching out to former student-athletes.

NCAA After The Game is a new resource for former NCAA student-athletes to help them search for and potenially gain employment, and will also act as a source for them to access helpful information regarding staying healthy after college.  Additionally, After The Game will share stories of former student-athletes who are continuing to give back to their communities, highlight a student-athlete’s success in college and beyond, and will also link them to other former student-athletes from their alma mater.

NCAA After The Game features a career center that fosters connections between former student-athletes and employers who want to hire them. Former NCAA student-athletes can post resumes, search for employment, and get job-seeking advice. Research shows that this is the number one service student-athletes wanted.

Click here for more information on NCAA After The Game.